The Sequel

page-0Writing the sequel to my debut novel, Judas the Apostle, has been an extremely interesting process. When I finished JTA, I had no notion of writing a follow on book. Writing one book, getting it published and selling the book are all extremely time-consuming especially for someone like myself with a fulltime day job. Still, by the time I had finished the twenty edits/rewrites of JTA, I began to hear from the few people who had agreed to read the unpublished versions that they loved the characters and when could they see more. During this process, a funny thing happened. I began to think about foreshadowing the sequel in JTA.  The other thing that happened was that I sat down and started writing the sequel. Those of you who have read my blogs probably remember that I write for one hour every night at nine o’clock. Guess what time it is right now?

As the sequel, tentatively entitled “Sicarii”, began to roll out I had to go back and adjust elements of Judas the Apostle. I found the sequel can affect the original book (if it has not been published) as much as the original book affects the sequel. This can make both books better and more continuous. Still, Sicarii has a totally different story with mostly the three main characters, Cloe, J.E. and the monsignor continuing. There are one or two minor characters from JTA who come along and we have a whole suite of interesting new characters. Actually, somewhat more time is spent in Sicarii developing the new characters because we got to know the main characters very well in JTA.

As with JTA, there are biblical mysteries explored in Sicarii that give it a bit of intellectual heft. Some of this stuff I had never heard of until I started my research. An alternate Calvary…could it be? Hopefully, it will be as thrilling, fast-paced and as interesting as my readers tell me JTA is.

One thing I did not know. Writing one book is something. But I did wonder if it was a fluke. In other words, I didn’t know if I had a second book in me. Well, I finished Sicarii on New Year’s Eve. It’s being edited now and should be available in about six months. Another funny thing happened. On New Year’s Day, I started the 3quel, tentatively entitled “Suppose…” It’s very creepy. Best.

About vrmayhalljr

Van R. Mayhall Jr. is the senior partner in a Baton Rouge, Louisiana law firm where he practices corporate and business law and handles selected litigation. Born and raised in Baton Rouge, he was educated at Louisiana State University and Georgetown University. He and his wife, Lorri, have three grown children and enjoy boating on Lake Pontchartrain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

