Judas the Apostle—the movie!

tnA producer is talking to me about making my novel, Judas the Apostle, into a movie. This is pretty amazing. Among many other things, I’m being asked who would play the principal characters. The problem is I’m so far removed from the current generation of actors and actresses, I have no idea. I would need a thirty-something leading lady to play Cloe the heroine in the book. She would have to be vulnerable but with a steel core. J.E., her soldier son, is in his mid-twenties. He’s an army intelligence officer. I was thinking Brad Pitt because he’s a terrific actor and has a link to New Orleans close to where the action would be filmed. But Brad Pitt is not in his twenties anymore…is he? I don’t know. The monsignor is a little older, mid- to-late forties. I was thinking Gene Hackman as he is one of my favorites and has an amazing screen presence. But Gene Hackman is a little older than that, isn’t he? Maybe Brad Pitt. The Kolektor is so evil; he’s a perfect bad guy. Our local newspaper reviewed the book. They never praise anybody for anything. Still, they found merit in the bad guy saying I had done the one thing necessary for a good thriller. I had created a truly evil villain in the Kolektor. Who could play him? He’s in his eighties but is very spry. Anthony Hopkins? Maybe Gene Hackman.

One thing I do know about is each of the  venues in the book and translating them into a movie.  Madisonville, Louisiana is where it would start. This could be filmed on location at not too great a cost. Actually, the whole movie can been filmed in Louisiana because of the way the book is written, the various sites in the state and, importantly, the film tax credits that can be monetized to finance a film shot here.  Need I say more?

The Baton Rouge and LSU sites can easily be filmed on location. The ones in France at the Church of St. John could be shot at any church with sufficient gravitas in Louisiana. We have plenty. The grounds and church at the Ursuline Convent in New Orleans would be perfect except for the fact that this site is prominent in the sequel, Sicarii, which is being edited now. The finale in Jerusalem could be filmed in almost any secluded glade at night. Many of the scenes are subject to being shot on a film stage.

So, I think I have the locations all down but I could use some help on the actors and actresses. Thoughts?

About vrmayhalljr

Van R. Mayhall Jr. is the senior partner in a Baton Rouge, Louisiana law firm where he practices corporate and business law and handles selected litigation. Born and raised in Baton Rouge, he was educated at Louisiana State University and Georgetown University. He and his wife, Lorri, have three grown children and enjoy boating on Lake Pontchartrain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

